Oh, the Betrayal!

As with all my other book reviews, there will undoubtedly be spoilers, so please read with caution. Unless you simply don’t give a damn, in which case by all means go right ahead.

Craaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaapppppppppppppppppp. Classes start on Monday. What the hell happened to my summer break.

Synopsis: Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

OH THE FUCKING DECEPTION.

YOU GOT ME MARY PEARSON. YOU GOT ME.

This book just pissed me off multiple times when I wanted to smack Lia across the face and make her understand that she needs to love Kaden.

Anyway, I loved this sequel more than The Kiss of Deception. I love the first one, I really do, but this one just made me feel so many feels. Lia is so much stronger as a vagabond princess warrior than the royal she’s meant to be. She kicks so much ass. I love her spunk and her moral scale makes me favor her politics.

Lia and Rafe are sweet, I get that whole relationship and the fact that they actually have feelings for each other but then I analyze Lia and Kaden’s relationship and that one just seems so much more realistic and gripping to me. Kaden can offer her protection and happiness because they could live in the city together where Lia belongs. They both have the gift, they’re both attracted to each other, I mean, come on.

I loved the Komizar in this book. In the Kiss of Deception I had pictured some old fat slob who doubles as a complete asshole. Of course, the Komizar’s still pretty much a big asshole but he’s such a great character. I could picture all of his expressions and almost hear his voice because this character, man. THIS CHARACTER. Such a dick, but such a pleasure to hate him.

It’s been a bit since I’ve read it and I’ve already forgotten the actual plot twist, or if there was one. But I don’t remember it being as epic as the one in the first book.

I think what I liked most about this book was it seemed darker almost, like it wasn’t about some princess runaway bride who has a summer fling with a couple of boys. This book was in the heart of Venda, and made you fall in love with the city, the people, and Kaden and Lia.

The people of Venda seem like such barbarians at first but you learn that they’re just a people who have hardened their hearts to defend their city. It’s a beautiful culture and very colorful, I just wish Lia could have stayed in the end.

I was basically sitting on nothing but air where Lia killed the Komizar and I was like Yaaas now she can be the Komizar and live with Kaden and everyone will be happy, but she was so set and determined on running away with Rafe and his band of merry men. It was such an intense scene and I was deflated by the end of it.

I know there’s supposed to be a third book, hopefully not another year from now, because I don’t think I can wait that long. I’m just hoping Lia makes the right choices in the end.

Ah well, this has been a lovish review and I wish you all the very best of luck on going back to school, new jobs, exciting endeavors, and whatnot.

I bid you all a very fond farewell.

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Betrayal!

  1. Oh my goodness, this review was basically how I felt a good portion of the time. I wanted Lia to love Kaden so freaking bad, but alas, she always does her own thing. I loved the Komizar as well! I was expecting him to be such a loathsome asshole – which he was – but he was intriguing and I wanted more scenes with him. Great review, love the gifs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Someone understands me completely! Thank you. I just dont understand Lia, I dont get her at all. She makes me so mad. And YES, the Komizar is such an amazing character, he’s probably one of my favorite villains now, but he’s such an interesting and sad sort of case, it’s too bad he died.

      Like

Leave a Reply

