Clipped Wings/Inked Armor Book Review

Hello, my poopsies.

Sorry I was gone for so long, I just went to Houston, Texas to visit my best fran for about 10 days and I wasn’t been able to utilize her laptop to keep my blog nor my Instagram updated, so everything was collecting dust back at home in California. When I got back last Thursday, I came home to a messy bedroom, at least forty six recorded shows to watch, overdue reviews to be written and overdue pictures to be taken for the grams. But I’m recovered now, and nothing’s happening on this boring ole Monday, so I’m finally ready to throw something at cha.

Let’s skip the introduction portion of this review and jump right into the gritty details.

PS, this is gonna be a double review cause the two books be small SOB’s and I’d like to keep my blog organized and tidy.

Clipped Wings: An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn’t ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley’s past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side…or run?

Inked Armor: In this follow-up to Clipped Wings, the emotional love story continues between Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

In the wake of losing Tenley Page, tattooist Hayden Stryker’s tumultuous past is haunting him. Plagued by nightmares about the murder of his parents, Hayden reaches out again to Tenley. Having run from the man she doesn’t believe she deserves, Tenley finally lays her guilt to rest. Despite their intense physical attraction, Hayden and Tenley struggle to repair their fragile emotional connection. As Hayden gets closer to the truth, he must find a way to reconcile his guilt over his parents’ death in order to keep the woman who finally cracked his armor, and found her way into his heart.

 

The Clipped Wings series is a couple of books that I must say I was quite thrilled to get started, since there was so much hype. People kept suggesting it to me and they all had such good thing to say about it. And I gotta say, I did enjoy it. The only problem I had with it was the sex, I think. There was a lot of it, and that’s fine—it’s just—to go into these long descript details of said sex scenes was almost unnecessary after the first couple. It’s completely okay to have a few thrown in here and there, but after a while, it just got kind of boring/monotonous.

That being said, the smut is indeed very hot and very passionate, and it’s nice to see how the characters begin to fall for each other harder and harder and they throw everything they got into this reckless and all-consuming love because they have that instant attraction to each other that’s just not there for anyone else. So if you’re into that smutty steamy sex in books, then this is the series for you.

I’m looking at you, girl in the corner biting your lip.

Aside from all that, the characters are fun and very developed, there’s enough humor to keep it light and away from teetering on the edge of depressing. There’s nothing I hate more than a martyr, especially in books.

I liked that Tenley was almost quiet and reserved at first, and then she got into this wild relationship with Hayden and she became an animal. It goes to show that people really do bring out the best (and worst) in others. It was definitely a page turner because you’d finish a chapter and there’d always be a cliffhanger and towards the end, you’re thinking well, you only have a few chapters left. And before you know it, the book is done. You keep wondering what’s gonna happen to these people since there doesn’t seem to be much of any impending doom-like circumstances, until the very end of the first book and you’re like AW SHIT’S GOIN DOWN TONIGHT, BABY.

I tore one of the pages in the middle, while reading it because I was eager to get to the next page when I heard it, I was just like:

I’d have to say it’s not my favorite book, but I had a favorite part in the books which was a scene where Hayden’s uncle confronts him after Hayden and Tenley did the naughty in a garage that him and his uncle were working on. I don’t know why, but for some reason this bit just made me laugh really hard for a full minute.

                He dropped the paper bag on the desk.

                “What’s this?”

                “I found them in the garage.”

                One glance inside confirmed what I already knew. It was Tenley’s shoes. “I—uh—“

                “Cassie thought it would be best for me to give them to you.”

                “Thanks. If Tenley knew someone else found them, she’d be—“ Embarrassed as fuck. I could feel the heat in my face.

                “I’m glad you want to show Tenley what you’re working on.”

                His grin told me he knew exactly what had gone down in that garage. “For future reference, there’s a switch beside the door that heats the garage floor. Or next time, you could go inside and show her the whole house.”

                Cheeky fucking bastard.

Well, it’s not as funny now, but still pretty great.

I give it a 3.5/5 stars for both.

Wellp, that’s all for today, my dearest booknerdigans, I wish you the very greatest and hope you all have a wonderful Monday.

Buh bye, now.

One thought on “Clipped Wings/Inked Armor Book Review

Leave a Reply

