Blogger Recognition Award

Hey there, my dearest booknerdigans. I’m so pleased to say that I was nominated by Analee @ Book Snacks for the Blogger Recognition Award. It’s an honor and a gift that she took the time to mention me, so thank you dearly. If you aren’t yet stalking her blog, you need to do so immediately. I never thought I’d have any acknowledgement whatsoever, but she’s such a sweet person and one of the few bloggers that actually pays attention to my silly little posts and likes them. (Thank you!)

The Rules:

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  • Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
  • Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
  • Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

The birth of a blog:

Oh man, where do I begin? Feel free to skip ahead to the good stuff.

Well. I started this blog sometime in…April-ish. I had the thought to start blogging one day when I was looking at my book collection and I glanced over at some of the ones I hadn’t read in a while. Let it be known that I have the worst memory ever—that’s no exaggeration. I forget to do things five minutes after preparing to do it. (That could either mean that I have a serious mental health problem or that I just have a really bad memory.)

Anyway. I forget a lot of things, unfortunately, and that includes most of the books I read. Usually I’ll reread the books if I forget what names were in it or the characters, or what they were like. However, that takes up the time that I could be using to read new books.

SO, when I was looking at some of the books I don’t remember reading, I took it upon myself to chronicle my reading journey. I figured, I could just look back at my blog and it’d help me remember. So far, so good. I recently had to look back at my Kiss of Deception review to start reading The Heart of Betrayal. (Which is another review that should be up as soon as I finish it, I only just put down The Clipped Wings Duo aka the next review, so The Heart of Betrayal is under way.)

As for the name, I had tossed around hundreds of names that never seemed to fit for what I wanted to say. But I’m a sap who love books, and I love, love, and I love, love in books. Love and Other Bookish Things just sort of rolled off my tongue and it felt right, so it stuck.

Other than shotty memory, I’ve learned that the book blogging community is such an incredible place filled with wonder and amazing stories. I never came here with great expectations, I never came here to be noticed, let alone have any communication with the other people out there that have the same undying love and passion, for these stories that are bound together and given to us to open our minds and elicit imagination. It’s really, truly, a remarkable thing to find those of you who can share that adoration. It’s you that make blogging worthwhile. Without being able to laugh and cry about something that you both love and gush over it, you’d be talking to no one but yourself or someone who doesn’t give a damn. I am eternally grateful, for this little blogging family of mine that continues to grow.

My Advice:

OH shat. I’m the worst person when it comes to advice, but I will try my best.

Be you. I think people like reading posts that feel raw and realistic. As if you were reading a journal/diary. Don’t be afraid to speak your mind and formulate your own honest opinions. Let it come from your heart, not popular influence.

Find a signature touch. I’ve found great success in using the comedic gifs I add to all my posts. Personally, I love them, they make me laugh and they get the point across of what I’m feeling or my reactions. It’s difficult to emote your feelings with simple words over the internet, but images help.

Communicate with others. Don’t be afraid to say hi, or like and comment on other people’s posts. I promise, they don’t bite. As well as vice versa, if someone comments or writes to you and compliments your blog posts, take the time to write back, throw in a thank you.

Don’t worry about the stats. You put your stuff up to get noticed, right? You put your heart and soul into decking out your blog and the posts but no one likes or follows? That’s okay, trust me, have patience. Just keep at it, eventually you will gather a group of people who are just like you and enjoy what you put out there. Even if the numbers are small or none at all, you’ll learn that the result of expressing your thoughts is just as rewarding either way.

Play around with the layout. Sometimes changing the way my blog looks makes me feel better about it. However, I’m still so new and there’s a lot I don’t know how to do. It still looks like a mess, but I play around with it.

Relax, take it easy. Blogging doesn’t have to be about pleasing others, it’s about enjoying yourself. It should be a hobby, not a chore. If you don’t feel like posting anything that day, don’t. It’s that simple, you shouldn’t feel pressured to dedicate your time in writing something if the spark isn’t there.

My nominees are:

-Lola @ Alligator_Space_Invader

-Kara @ What Kara Reads

-Unknown @ Island Geek Girl

-Taylor and Stephanie @ Bibliophile Gathering

-Maria @ Big City Bookworm

-Becca @ Becca and Books

-Laura @ Laura’s Tea Time Reads

-Branxo @ Books by Branxo

-Unknown @ Many Reads

-Mandy @ Mandy’s Book Blog

-Unknown @ Hungry Monster Review

-Unknown @ The Time Traveling Writer

-Ravenna @ The Renegade Zombie

-Josbons @ Siuquxe Books

-Nola @ Bookfuls

If you’ve already been nominated and posted about it, don’t sweat it, just keep on scrolling by. Otherwise, I hope you all have a splendid day. I thank you again, Analee, for nominating me, it was a pleasure to be involved.

This is me, signing off. I wish you all the very best.

10 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

