The Heir Review

Before we get to into this thing, as with all my other reviews, there is bound to be a spoiler here and there, I apologize. Read at your own risk.

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

I picked up The Heir sometime last weekish, my expectations were through the roof with this one because I was so looking forward to getting more Maxon and America plus their babies. Until I found out how much I strongly dislike their daughter, Eadlyn. I started it as soon as I bought the thing, but then I had trouble continuing it. Eadlyn did not win me over with her spoiled rotten attitude.

I was turned off as soon as I read how highly she thought of herself. No wonder their nation is falling apart. They aren’t ready for this girl to be their queen.

I couldn’t not read it though, I had to get through it. I picked it up last night and finished it around five in the morning just so I could be able to start something else and get this bad taste out of my mouth.

As I read more into it, I began to understand Eadlyn a bit more and where she’s coming from. Where this personality and dry humor stems from, and I realized something. Holy crap. Is this what I sound like? Do I seem like a cold, manipulative, stand offish, and independent asshole? IS THAT ME? AM I SO SARCASTIC IT COMES OFF AS RUDE? SHIT. I’m not trying to be that mean. I can be a dick sometimes, but I refuse to believe that I’m anything like Eadlyn.

I get that she’s afraid, and she’s trying to be strong and prove that she can be a powerful enough queen without a man by her side.

BUT YOU KNOW WHAT EADY.

She’s being selfish and overtly confident in her abilities. She’s built this wall around herself that just deflects everyone around her and she won’t let anyone in. She’s going to be lonely all her life if she keeps acting like this. Maxon is happy because he has America, he has his family, to give him a slice of pride and joy after the never-ending stress of trying to run a country. I get that maybe Eadlyn’s simply different. Maybe she could be alone forever, but that’s going to beat her down eventually, and then what?

I think, her best option would be Kile. He’s a good genuine person, and even though he and Eadlyn had that love hate relationship at first, deep down, they got the hots for each other. Considering that they’ve known each other their entire lives. They’re probably perfect together, and they know each other. It just makes the most sense to me.

I think her problem is that she’s too worried about making her country happy with the Selection that she’s not at all focused on the possibilities standing around her. She’s got to weed them out, but she’ll eventually find the guy that’s supposed to help her. She’s afraid they’re going to bring her down and stand taller than her because she has too much pride but the point is that she needs some kind of affection, compassion and most of all, she needs a partner. Taking care of a nation, is a lot to shoulder, especially when said nation is struggling, she could use someone to give her advice and talk to.

Anyway. The ending made me frustrated as hell. I couldn’t stop smiling when she walked into her parents’ bedroom (well, Maxon’s room that he just so happens to share with his wife) and she saw all the pictures on the wall of Maxon and America. During the selection, at their wedding, after the birth of the twins. It was just so freaking sweet I wanted to throw my book at the wall because my feels. AND THEN AMERICA HAS A HEART ATTACK.

Like. Are you kidding me? Then Cass decides to end it right there.

I was so exhausted this morning, but I picked up a new book anyway just so I could move on. I gave The Heir a chance, and it would have been perfect, had Eadlyn been someone I liked bit more.

I give it a 3/5 stars.

Well, my dear booknerdigans, this is me signing off, until next time.

2 thoughts on “The Heir Review

Leave a Reply

