Bookish Scenarios Tag

Well, well, well. We meet again my lovely little friends.

Let’s just jump right into this tag.

You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction, and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

You son of a donkey butt. Let’s get things straight. I will never. Ever. EVER, get rid of a single book in my possession unless I happen to have a duplicate, in which case I‘d still probably cry giving those way.

For the sake of this question however, I will make an exception.

Theoretically speaking…

Contemporary: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

Fantasy: Ooh, tough. *Bites nails as I scan my shelves* Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, maybe?

Non-Fiction: To be honest, I don’t usually read non-fiction ‘cause I’m an uncultured swine. BUT, I did really enjoy this book I read for a book report in high school. It was called Walt Disney: The Triumph of the American Imagination by Neal Gabler.

One other genre of my choice: I’ve realized how much I love the Lux series, and I don’t think I could ever live without those books. Nor could I live without The Hunger Games. Damn. *Shrinks away*

You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

I love that we’re at a bookstore. And I love that this sounds like an obnoxious person we’re talking about. Well, I don’t think you can force someone to like reading. It’s just something that some people can purely enjoy like you and I, but for others, reading is the bane of their existence unfortunately. And I get that, reading just isn’t for some people. Buuuuuuuuuuut. If this were the case, I would start off by saying “Look here you little bastard. If your mom is offering you a free book that could blow your mind and take your breath away, I suggest you take her up on that.” Then I’d consider the options, for someone who doesn’t like to read, you’ll have to give them something that wouldn’t bore them. Therefore, I choose The Hunger Games. If that doesn’t get their attention, I don’t know what will, and they’re obviously a lost cause.

You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a good mood?

Hmm…This is tough question ‘cause when I’m not feeling myself, I’ll just scan through one of my favorite books for all my favorite parts that make me smile. I guess, if I had to pick one book, Losing It. So many laughs does that book give me.

You go back in time for a day to your teenage years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

I’m gonna take us back to when I was sixteen and I was curious about this certain series called Fifty Shades of Grey. To be completely honest, I had absolutely no idea what it was about before I got into it, I just knew it was pretty risqué and buying the books would be the extent of my rebellious teenage actions. *rolls eyes* My life has always been pretty unexciting let me tell ya.

Your friend surprises you with a four day trip and you have one hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

Oh my god. My friend is surprising me with a road trip??? Holy crap, that’s pretty freaking awesome. Too bad I’m broke. Lol.

I guess I’d grab Royally Lost, cause it gives me wanderlusty feelings.

Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

Holy hell. What kind of burglar steals a crapload of books?

I think I’d laugh because, what a freaking weirdo. Then I’d hunt the bastard down and get my books back.

I think I’d be most worried about my Ready Player One book to be honest. It’s funny because that’s not even my favorite book but, it holds so much importance to me since it was a birthday gift from my brother. It was one of the first gifts where I felt like he put a lot of thought into it and I was honored to receive it from him.

Your friend borrows a book and returns it to you in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed b) Ask them to repurchase it or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?

I generally don’t lend my books out. Like. Ever. Unless I know for sure that I can trust the person because there has been two occasions in which one, this person didn’t return like three of the books that I lent them at once, and another friend returned my book dirty and the cover bent. And let me tell ya, nothing makes me madder than a bent book cover (or pages). So, I’d probably chew them out for screwing up my book, then I’d ask them to get me a new one or give me the monies to get my own.

Alas, this has been a Lovish book tag, and this is me, signing off, may you all have a splendid day my fellow booknerdigans.

Leave a Reply

