Scarlet Review

As with all of my book reviews, there will more than likely be spoilers so ye be warned.

Read at your own risk.

Unless you don’t give a crap about spoilers or you won’t read the book. Then by all means, go for it.

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

      Ohoho mama.

                

Guys. I gotta say, I loved this one way more than I loved Cinder. Which is saying a lot, since I really liked Cinder, but there was just so much more action and plot in this one that made me just…yeah.

Okay, so I am not that big a fan of the Little Red Riding Hood tale just because I’ve heard it so many times as a clue that children should listen. It’s like a life lesson that we’ve all been told too many times. Listen to your mom and don’t talk to strangers. We get it.

However, this version of the story tied into Cinder really nicely and it all came together so perfectly. After reading this I learned that each of the books in the Lunar Chronicles basically focuses on one (or two) characters. Obviously based on the name of each book. Cinder focuses on Cinder, Scarlet…Scarlet, and Cress is gonna be Cress. As well as Winter…buuuut we haven’t quite gotten there yet. So for now, let’s talk about Scarlet.

At first I thought Scarlet was starting to sound and act a lot like Cinder, but as the book progressed, my opinion changed. Scarlet carries well on her own. On the other hand, Cinder of course is still such a strong character and is sure to not be outshined by any of the new characters. As for the two new boys in the book, I love them each in their own way as well.

The chemistry between Scarlet and Wolf is HOT.

It was obvious that Wolf (Or Ze’ev Kesley) was a Lunar Special Operative, because I was like cam an. The sense of smell, the canines, the claws, lesbihonest, we all saw that coming.

Wolf is such a good guy I feel for him. Not to mention, he sounds…well. For lack of a better word, he’s sexy.

Scarlet ain’t too bad herself man. As described, she’s curvy, beautiful, and I guess Wolf has the hots for gingers.

Wait. I meant.

I’m so jealousss. Gah Scarlet. I’ll trade you bodies.

In other words, they’re beautiful people and they were meant to be, and one day they’re gonna make beautiful babies.

While Scarlet goes on a steamy adventure with Wolf through France, Cinder meets Captain Carswell Thorne.

She runs into Thorne in prison when she’s in the middle of escaping and she kind of falls into his cell.

Iminlovewithcaptainthorne. He’s probably now my favorite character in the series because he’s so funny and arrogant, he lightens the mood. Not to mention, he’s flawless like every other male in the story. He’s so goddamn obnoxious and stuck on himself he reminds me so much of Flynn Rider or even Peter Quill. But he’s terribly conceited in the best way, he’s also a good man. He claims to be deserving of his criminal title, but after you learn of everything he’s done in his past, he’s a good person.

The four characters eventually meet and decide to conquer the world.

Not really. They just realize they all have a common goal, and what needs to be done. Which is take down Levana.

Anyway. I think I liked this one more than Cinder because it really picked up as soon as it began. It was all about finding more secrets and answers and discovering that Levana’s an even bigger monster than you had expected.

It was like hopping aboard a train full of action that just kept going. I went through it in a matter of a couple days. Thanks to school and work, it took me longer than it should have, but oh well. I got through it quickly enough anyway because it was that good. Losing sleep was worth it.

I’m kind of sad that Emperor Kai wasn’t in it as much as I would have liked because I feel as though he was almost forgotten. Like we would occasionally get a chapter fully on what was going on in the palace and poor Kai, and I’m like “Oh yeah, you’re in here too.”

I feel for him though, I really do. The poor lad is being strapped to an extraterrestrial cougar for marriage, who plans to murder him after she wins the crown, has her way with him and he gives her an heir to eventually claim the thrones.

I’ve become a little more curious about Levana, however. There’s this one scene in which she’s congratulated on her engagement…

 and she toys with a ring that she wears but no one can see because of her Lunar influence. So, it would appear that she’s been married once, yes? Or at least engaged? Could the evil queen possibly have a soft side?

A pathetic backstory?

I feel like I should read Fairest now.

Mebe. We’ll see.

Well, out of all, I’m gonna give this precious baby a 5/5 stars.

That’s right, I don’t always dole out my 5’s but when I do, it’s a post apocapyptic book.

This has been a lovish book review, I wish you all a very wonderful day.

This blog has been brought to you in part by ‘Jessica Chastain is a babe’.

Leave a Reply

