March Book Haul

There is no better feeling than the feeling you get when you unbox or unbag your newly purchased pile of books.

This past month of March was a pretty good month I gotta admit. Some great things happened in my personal life and in addition, I got a boat load of books. Of course seven novels may not seem like a lot to some of you who go absolutely insane and buy at least a shelf’s worth, but to me, seven is my entire paycheck. Now I am penniless, as per usual.

So I thought I’d share with you all, my recent additions to my paper family.

Scarlet, by Marissa Meyer.

I just started reading Cinder maybe a couple weeks ago and I immediately knew I would like it. I read the first chapter and I was like hmmm yes, yes I like this strangely odd take on Cinderella. So I had to get the next books in the series, being Scarlet and Cress. I may or may not get Fairest, simply because I don’t give a crap about Levana, but if someone can convince me otherwise, I’ll give it a go.

Cress, by Marissa Meyer.

 

Cress is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles series and my personal favorite cover in the series. It’s obviously a reflection of the Rapunzel story, and if you don’t already know, Rapunzel is my favorite princess and my favorite fairytale. So I’m pretty excited for this one, that is if it’s anything like what I’m imagining.

 

The Geography of You and Me, by Jennifer E. Smith

 

I am thrilled to jump into this book because I loved all of Smith’s other books. She has such a young and fresh writing style. It’s easy to relate to the characters and the humor makes it all the more loveable. For some reason, it took me a while to find this copy but it’ll be the last book of Smith’s that I’ll have to read, unless of course she writes more. In that case, I’ll be there in a second to get my hands on one.

Half Bad, by Sally Green

 

This one, I purchased solely for the rave I’ve heard about it. It sounds pretty interesting, and I like that the main protagonist is a male. I feel like most YA books generally have a female main character and it’s nice to change it up a bit. Not to mention we get a little insight into how boys think, unless of course a female author wrote it, then I feel like that’s sort of defeating the purpose. Ah well, I’ll probably like it nonetheless.

 

Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard

To be completely honest, I have absolutely no freaking clue what this gorgeous book is about. About 80% of the time, when I purchase books, I only look at ratings and covers—but mostly covers. This cover looked absolutely beautiful so I grabbed it and threw down the moneys. My encounter with seeing it for the first time went a little something like, Me stopping to stare at it for a bit, grabbing it, petting the smooth surface, and putting it in my cart at Target. Alas, she is a pretty one, and I’m sure it’s gonna be good.

 

Frankenstein or The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Shelley

 

Victor Frankenstein is my life. Not really, but he really should be. I’ve actually already read this baby several times because it’s a really, really amazing story. The tale of birth, life, and death is extraordinary. It makes you ask yourself so many questions and you end up wondering who you sympathize with more. I’m just excited to hold this beautiful cover.

 

Alienated, by Melissa Landers

 

I am really truly excited for this one. I didn’t even know of its existence until I saw it on the bottom shelf at Barnes and Noble all by itself. I saw the word Alien and I was like “aw yeah”. I read Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series some odd years ago when no one really knew about those books existence, somehow they busted through the roof with popularity this past year, which kind of ticks me off because those books are like my children.

I really fell in love with that story and its tough finding alien/human romance books. I’ve always had this weird attraction to anything extraterrestrial related, I am a big fat alien loving nerd, and that’s okay. So if this series is anything like Shadows, Obsidian, Onyx, Opal, Origin, or Opposition, It will probably consume my life for a while.

Alas, I am pumped to get a chance to open these books up. That is all, farewell my fellow friends.

Leave a Reply

