But why must Dorothy die?

“I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know? …What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. Now no one is safe. My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the revolutionary order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission.”

Oh shoot, watch out, we got a badass over here.

In short, Danielle Paige wrote an additional book to add to L. Frank Baum’s set of novels. Only, a really gory and terribly twisted version where Dorothy is a total monster. As well as her harem of boy toys.

Oh sorry, I meant this lion

It’s like a sick version of Mean Girls.

Amy Gumm (Hold on. Get it? Eh? Gumm. As in Frances Ethel Gumm? AKA Judy Garland’s real name. Just thought I’d throw that out there for those of you who didn’t catch that. Wink, wink.)

Anyhow.

Amy Gumm, is a teenage girl with pink hair and an attitude from a trailer park in Kansas. She lives with her drug addict mother, and her mother’s rat named Star (who happens to be my favorite character in the whole book). Because what a cutie.

I guess you can say that her spunk is what’s kept her alive and leads to her predictable importance. As is said, she is swept up by a tornado and thrown into the Oz we all know.

Except it’s not.

This Oz has been destroyed it’s dim, it’s faded, muggy, filthy, sad, and terrifying. Long gone is the colorful land filled with magic and color. Amy at first sort of passes this off as a dream, until she sees someone she befriends get brutally murdered right before her eyes. Poor lass.

I’d have to say, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I didn’t really know what I was getting into when I saw the book and decided to read it, so it was an interesting turn of events. The story was enjoyable, the characters likeable enough. I like that Amy isn’t an ignorant girl in the fact that she knows to be guarded and realizes that she can’t trust anyone. Even those she joins in the endeavor to take out Dictator Dorothy.

It’s definitely labeled as a YA book, it even has a few of those eye rolling moments, but I’d say this could maybe pass for Adult Fiction. There’s a lot of blood and plenty of jaw dropping violence. It’s very tasty.

I gotta say though, the fact that Paige has turned Oz into a nightmare and Dorothy plus friends complete savages, makes me kind of sad. The Wizard of Oz is precious, and now I won’t be able to read the books or watch the movie, or even listen to the music without thinking about this particular novel.

Thanks Danielle Paige.

Thanks Obama.

The book doesn’t take very long at all to jump right into the story, and you never really feel bored with it. Every moment is important and stands on its own.

It’s also a very empowering book for women. It’s a girl’s world, with complete focus on the females in the story who stand out the most, with Amy in the lead and the villainous Dorothy right behind her.

It was a good juan.

Me like.

I believe CW is set to air a series based on the novel, and I’m assuming the sequel: The Wicked Will Rise, which I have yet to get my hands on. The only issue is, I don’t much like the CW, every time I feel like I want to get into a show they have, the show always lets me down and disappoints. Sorry CW fans, it’s just not my favorite channel.

I give it a 4/5.

One thought on “But why must Dorothy die?

  1. I was totally in love with this book and its uniqueness until the end. I very very much did not like the fact that we had this wholeeeeeeee book dragged out for the real plot to be dumped on us in the last few sentences. That’s poor writing, and clever marketing. Then I found out its a Full Fathom Five and James Frey book, so it’s no wonder! I wish I could have loved this book the way you did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

