The Kiss of Deception Book Review

“Sometimes we’re all pushed to do things we thought we could never do.”

So I actually read this novel a while ago in January, but I haven’t been able to talk to anyone about it–obviously. That’s why I have you guys! *cricket sounds*

It’s okay though, Having invisible internet buddies works too. You guys are the best. No judging whatsoever. I’m honored to feed you all with word vomit.

Anyway.

In short, The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson is a YA story about a seventeen year old princess named Lia (or at least that’s what she calls herself for short) whom takes the chance to flee on the morning of her wedding day, whilst betrothed to a prince from another kingdom. She makes it to a distant village and settles in amongst the commoners, whom are oblivious to her position. You have to wonder why no one in this town has no idea what their princess looks like. I mean, cam an.

So all is well, she’s secured a job at a brothel/restaurant where in walk, two dark handsome strangers. As soon as they walk in, you already know that one is the prince (that she was supposed to marry) and the other is an assassin. In the beginning, the story is told from the perspective of all three main characters. The thing is, you don’t really know which man is the prince and which is the killer. They have names (which both escape me now. I have a terrible memory.)

Throughout the whole book  I was thinking the prince was the assassin and vice versa. When you finally reach the plot twist toward the end, you understand who is actually who and at that point, I was thoroughly confused. I had to sit back and take a breath, flipping back through the pages to grasp what had just happened and who did what.  After I finally understood who was who, and who Lia was falling in love with and who she was already in love with. (Because if you read it, you can admit that Lia has feelings for both.)

So I felt pretty relaxed at the end, having that knowledge tucked safely away in my mind. I don’t have a favorite, they’re both pretty hot, okay. All in all, the book is pretty dang good. I gotta say the mixed reviews were kind of a turn off for me, but I gave it a chance and I really liked it. I’m looking forward to the release of the next book in the series and hopefully who she ends up with. The author did a great job of making the characters have personality–praise Eywa– and she created a new world in a different time that helps to create the illusion of a separate world from our own. It’s a lovely story with beautiful characters.

I give it a 4/5 stars.

Good job, Mary. Good job.

Leave a Reply

